Lizzie Thomson is a choreographer, performer and researcher living and working on unceded Gadigal land of the Eora Nation. Her practice interrogates processes of embodiment as they relate to cultural, historical and temporal forces. Her work draws on both choreographic and sculptural processes and takes multiple forms including performance, video installation, text and sculpture. Lizzie has presented work at venues including Carriageworks, Performance Space, the Art Gallery of NSW, the Museum of Contemporary Art (Sydney), Campbelltown Arts Centre, Eastern Bloc Gallery, Serial Space, Alaska Projects, Critical Path, ReadyMade Works, Omeo Dance Studio, The Giant Dwarf Theatre, Dancehouse, ACO Air (Hong Kong), SODA Universit√§t der K√ľnste and ABC Arts Online Program.

Lizzie is currently undertaking a PhD in dance theory at UNSW. She has undergraduate degrees in Dance (QUT) and Fine Arts (COFA, UNSW) and a Master of Research in Performance (Macquarie University). She has recently guest edited journal issues on dance for Runway Australian Experimental Art (issue #36 DANCE) and for Critical Dialogues (issue #9 DANCE/VISUAL/ART). Her writing has been published in Performance Paradigm, Tanzconnexions: Asia Pacific and Europe Magazine, Un Magazine, Critical Dialogues, ADSR Zine, exhibition catalogues and in the book Performing Process: Sharing Dance and Choreographic Practice.

Alongside her own choreographic work, Lizzie works with artists as a dramaturg / mentor / choreographer in projects by artists including Rebecca Jensen, Rhiannon Newton, Rafaela Pandolfini, Ivey Wawn and Hissy Fit. She also continues to work as a performer and has performed extensively throughout Australia and internationally in works by artists and companies including Marina Abramovic, Hans Van den Broeck, Rosalind Crisp, Tess De Quincey, Mette Edvardsen, Expressions Dance Company, Brian Fuata, Agatha Gothe-Snape, Shane Haseman, Nikki Heywood, Samuel James, Joan Jonas, Julie-Anne Long, Jane McKernan, Adelle Mills, Jennifer Monson, Opera Australia, Jess Olivieri, Gail Priest, Jochen Roller, Tino Sehgal, Brooke Stamp, Garry Stewart, Dean Walsh, and many more.